top of page

Easy Summer Dresses

Hey ladies welcome back to another No Fuss Monday!

So, it's been getting a little hotter lately, finally, and I was getting dressed today. While looking through my closet I was just not sure what I wanted to wear. It's not because I was being indecisive, it was because everything would cling to me in the heat of the day. Also, in my defense, it was time for me to do some laundry. But we all have that problem from time to time as well. So, I pulled out a navy maxi skirt and a plain gray t-shirt, paired them with my flip flops, a pony tail and a John Deer hat and went to the local hardware store.

This got me thinking, if I had a dress to wear (not that I don't have dress, just not ones you might wear on a daily basis) then I could have just slipped on a summer dress and wouldn't have to think twice about it. All in all, the maxi skirt was great and kept me much cooler in the weather than my jeans or even my capris would have.

But, I say all of this, to talk about what i thought is the perfect thing to wear on a hot summer day, a dress. Whatever length, whatever style, it's simple, it's one piece, it's easy. If you don't have dresses in your closet or don't think you look good in a dress, maybe you should shop again. Not every style of dress that you like looks good with your body shape. So keep looking, keep trying them on. Maybe your frame looks better in skirts and shirts - that's ok. They are just as airy and cool, you just have to find something extra to pair it with: a shirt, which isn't too hard.

You can grab your casual dresses and pop it with some jewelry or keep it plain and simple. You can add a hat, you could add a cute or simple updo and keep your hair off your neck in the heat. You could pair it with a vest or a belt or a super cute pair of shoes. What you pair your dress with, helps to make your dress versatile to go from grocery store to wedding guest.

A dress is an instant outfit. No more fussing with trying to match your tops to your bottoms. It makes it easy by already having the work done for you. Dresses aren't just fancy either. Some people think that if they wear a dress you will instantly be dressed up. While you are looking good, and might I add, comfortable, there are casual dresses that are more fitting to your everyday life activities. As long as it is made from a casual fabric and not too shiny or silky and it's not very flashy with rhinestones, then your dress could probably work as an everyday dress. So, make your life easier and grab a dress on a hot day. Keep it simple and look beautiful and put together without the effort. Isn't that what us women want?

So...I know I'm not alone in the next thing I'm going to say, which is why I'm going to talk about this next one. Chub rub. People with large thighs or some athletes are familiar with the terrible effects of chafing and it's NO FUN. So, you might be thinking, wearing a dress isn't for me, especially not in the heat! I have tried some things to help this problem out and found what works for me. But, I have also looked up an article to share with you many options to help with the chub rub of the summer. So, if you also have this problem, maybe this will help and make your dress wearing days comfortable again!


bottom of page