top of page

TV Commercials: Through the Decades

Hello everyone! Today's Throw Back Thursday takes a look back in time at the popular TV commercials of each decade!

Starting with these 1940's black and white commercials:

The one I found most ironic (from today's perspective) was the Camel Cigarettes commercial showing that Doctors love to smoke Camel Cigarettes!

These black and white commercials from the 1950's were very cute and fun to watch:

I especially liked the Coca Cola commercials. Also I thought it was funny that they said bad breath could ruin the romance of your marriage. That made me laugh.

I found this collection of craziest commercials from the 1960's:

I noticed the, very true to the decade, sexist Goodyear tire commercial interesting. There is also an appearance by Charlotte Rae (The Facts of Life) in these commercials along with a creepy Bactine commercial. Also, one thing I noticed from these commercials: sex sells.

This is a long video of commercials from the 1970's but I really enjoyed it.

I remember using the Looney Toons glasses when growing up! I can really see where the 80's and 90's style of commercials was born through the 1970's style. Arnold Schwarzenegger is seen flexing his muscles in a Muscular Dystrophy commercial too. I also enjoyed the cute Ivory Snow Detergent Commercial! Another thing I noticed was the creepy Burger King costume that we see in today's commercials is originally from these 1970's commercials. We also see Dick Van Dyke in a Kodak video camera commercial and an Atari commercial!

These awesome 80's commercials have an appearance by Mat Le Blanc (Joey Tribbiani - Friends) and Dom Deluise (Actor and Cartoon Voice Over.)

I remember every one of these 1990's commercials! We used to have cable shows tape recorded for us when I was growing up so I knew these commercials like the back of my hand!

I looked for a good set of commercials from the 2000's, not that there were many great ones. Mostly what I could find that weren't individual commercials or one very long video were commercials from kids channels. So this is what I was able to come up with:

Even this should make you feel old, though. These commercials were from 17 years ago!

Don't worry; I won't bore you with today's commercials. We get enough of those on our own TV's!


bottom of page