top of page

The Life Changing Dry Shampoo

Hello, everyone! Thank you for joining me for another No Fuss Monday! I'm exited to talk about something that has made my life easier since I began using it. What am I talking about? Dry Shampoo!

If you've been reading from the beginning you'll know that I foreshadowed writing about this product. Well, folks, today is that day!

What is dry shampoo, you ask? (I'm pretending you don't already know...)

Answer: Dry shampoo is used to refresh your hair in between washes.

In between washes??? But I wash my hair every day! - If you're thinking this, watch this video:

Now that we're saving time by not washing our hair everyday, let's move on to the dry shampoo. I have been using dry shampoo for a little over three years. I used to wash my hair every day and I would always tell people that my hair was oily and I needed to wash it everyday. I was wrong. Not only was I creating those extra oils and making my hair greasy by washing it everyday, I was also stripping it of those natural oils by using my shampoo everyday. One of my biggest complaints with daily hair washing is the time it takes to style your hair after you shower. I never like to go somewhere with wet, soggy hair so I prefer to have it already styled. Well, that takes forever! Come on, don't you want to save time and energy? You can get more done in your day or catch some extra sleep. Who couldn't use a little extra rest or time to get things done? I know that I could!

I began using Batiste brand dry shampoo and the thing that I noticed was it's powerful scent. I have people in my family who are sensitive to strong perfumes and this would leave them telling me not to use it while they were around or to open a window when I use this product. I tried different scents from their collection and like some more than others, but ultimately stopped using that brand.

Currently I'm using the Not Your Mother's Beach Babe Texturing Dry Shampoo and the Clean Freak Refreshing Dry Shampoo from that same line. I prefer using the Not Your Mother's brand rather than the Batiste brand. The smells are better and I find it's a little cheaper as well. I picked mine up at Target in case anyone is wondering where they can find it. But I would encourage you, who are new to using this product, to find a tester bottle if possible and see how you like it before you buy a whole can of something you hate. Try different products out and see how they work for your hair. See if you like the smells, see if you like the way they soak up the oils. Do they leave your hair with a white cast? A what? You might be wondering what that is. If you are, check out this next video:

I didn't do a product comparison because I don't have time or money for all of that. But luckily some others already have! I found this video with a great tell all comparison of the brands that she has tried and ups and downs of each one. Hope this helps:

Every time I run out of my dry shampoo I like to try a different kind and the next one I would like to try would be one of the last three she touched on in this video. I'm going to take her advice and see what I also think of these personally.

If you already use a dry shampoo then you know the kind of magic this adds to your life. It takes your hair from greasy, just rolled out of bed and flat to tame, textured and no more grease. Some of these shampoos can also help give your hair hold if you're creating an updo that day. It's lighter than a hairspray, so why not give a couple shots of dry shampoo to your roots before you slip those pins in your style?

Hope you found this informative and will give this a try! It makes my morning easier and I will definitely be using it for my No Fuss Monday hair.

Thanks for coming back for more, I'll see you tomorrow for Tutorial Tuesday!


bottom of page