top of page

Backstreet's Back!

Hello, everyone and welcome back to another fun Throw Back Thursday! Yesterday we celebrated our 1st Month Birthday and today I'm going to take you back in time - 18 years exactly!

Something told me to look up today's date (May 18th) and see what happened on this date in history. I found this website: http://www.on-this-day.com/onthisday/thedays/alldays/may18.htm

I read through the first page of Misc. History and moved on to Music History and read "1999 - The Backstreet Boys released their third album 'Millennium.' " I stopped there. If you're a Backstreet Boys fan then you can understand!

I was 9 years old when this album came out and at the time I was still in my "I don't like the Backstreet Boys! They're stupid!" phase. I had an older sister who was in love with them, so, I guess you can say, this one is for you, dear sister! It wasn't until early 2000's that I openly admitted to her that I too loved the Backstreet Boys! I will never forget that day, strangely enough. I remember we were out tanning in the front lawn on our beach towels using her Discman and sharing earbuds. There we lay, smelling like coconut and reveling in the BSB booming in our ears. We were bonding over something new and I loved that moment. We still laugh about me coming out of the Backstreet Boys closet to this day.

Even if you weren't a super BSB fan I'm sure you can appreciate the nostalgia of this day in music. I mean, the choreographed dance moves, the hair, the poppy sound, the nasal singing, the camera shots in the music videos...the list goes on and on.

But for those of you who do appreciate the Backstreet Boys and who are already singing their songs in your head I'm including an interview with the boys about the release of their brand new album (in 1999), "Millennium."

(Also, gotta love the fuzzy picture. TV was so different only 18 years ago.)

Gotta love those matching outfits...remember when these colors were super popular around Y2K? Oh yeah...

I also want to include the "Millennium" album, in case you're itching to hear some great music! Go ahead, revel in your glory days! There's no shame in loving these boys!

In case you forgot their names, and I know you didn't, I have included a list

:

AJ McLean

"Howie D." Dorough

Nick Carter

Kevin Richardson

Brian Littrell (Still - The Cute One)

Track List 1. Larger Than Life 2. I Want It That Way (removed due to copyright) 3. Show Me The Meaning Of Being Lonely 4. It's Gotta Be You 5. I Need You Tonight 6. Don't Want You Back 7. Don't Wanna Lose You Now 8. The One 9. Back To Your Heart 10. Spanish Eyes 11. No One Else Comes Close 12. The Perfect Fan

I love how the album ends with a tribute to their moms. Fun Fact: Brian Littrell actually co-wrote that song as well as two other songs on this album.

So, I know how much you are bummed that "I Want it That Way" was removed due to copyright, so I have added something special for you! The video! What's better than hearing the song? Watching the music video of course! Now, revel in the music of 18 years ago. Feeling old yet? There are adults who were BORN when this album came out. Now you feel old.

Enjoy!

"I Want it That Way" - Back Street Boys

Fun Fact:

The Backstreet Boys have sold over 130 million records worldwide, making them the best-selling boy band in history, and one of the world's best-selling music artists. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Backstreet_Boys

So, eat that N'Sync and 98 Degrees, (I still love you though!)


bottom of page