top of page

Learn to play John Denver on the Ukulele

Welcome back for Ukulele Wednesday, guys! I would like to share with you that it's officially day 31 with The Quality Girl Blog! Happy 1 Month Birthday! I'm so excited and have a great one for you today!

Today's post will be covering Folk style songs and if you love folk music as much as me then I hope you'll love this one too! We're going to be focusing on John Denver today. I didn't realize this when I gathered the videos I wanted to play, but it turned out that it was all about John Denver today. May he rest in peace. <3 So let's learn some beautiful music together!

Let's start by learning a simple country strum pattern:

(I say it's easy, but I don't make the muting look too easy yet haha He just explains it simply.)

Now, let's take a look at Take Me Home, Country Roads, originally sung by John Denver. Hope this kicks off your folk vibe we've got going today! It's a great song and one I have yet to learn, but it's one that I want to learn soon.

Let's take a small break from tutorials and look at how to read ukulele tabs. This is something that I have just been looking into recently. I'm still a super beginner, which is why I'm not teaching you. We're learning things together through Youtube and The Quality Girl Blog! Are you excited too?

If you love John Denver, then you will also love this John Denver tutorial for Leavin' on a Jet Plane:

If you would love to hear this song done in a finger picked style rather than with a strum pattern I have a beautiful rendition of this. It's not a tutorial, but it's still lovely to listen to.

I think she reminds me of Zooey Deschannel and even sounds like her a bit. My guess is that Zooey is one of her inspirations as well as my own. So, right away, I liked this video. And her voice is very nice with this song.

I wanted to also share a live video of John Denver singing "Rocky Mountain High," since we're learning his songs today! He is obviously playing the guitar but we'll forgive him for that. He brought the wrong instrument to this blog! Just Kidding!

Fun Fact: "The Colorado state legislature also adopted "Rocky Mountain High" as one of its two state songs in 2007." - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Denver

Anyway, hope you enjoyed this John Denver tribute today! I'll see you tomorrow for some Throw Back Thursday!


bottom of page