top of page

I Woke up This Way, Headband Curls

Hello everyone and welcome to the first day of the new week, which begins, No Fuss Mondays!

I have a good trick for you today that can help in your effortless morning routine, called Headband Curls. I have used this one on myself on many occasion and for the most part it has always worked. When I have had issues with this turning out, it was because I had wet my hair down too much the night before and it was still wet in the morning. You can also do this technique quickly by using a warm blow dryer to dry the damp hair and then lock in the curls by using the cool setting before you let the hair down. You can also let it stay in your hair during the day (preferably while staying home) and showing off your beautiful curls in the evening. However you choose to do this style is up to you, but it truly is easier, less damaging to your hair, looks beautiful and natural.

The only thing I don't believe this video walks you through is that your hair should be slightly damp. This works great by using a spray bottle and it also works great if you have just showered and your hair is almost completely dry.

Another tip I have is to try to keep your loops of hair that go around the headband as smooth as you can to achieve the look that she had. You can mess your hair up after the curls are let loose. But keeping these pieces smooth is helpful in making defined curl instead of a wavy mess.

This is it, folks. Pretty simple, looks funny in the updo and is very effective when finished. If your hair has a lot of layers try practicing this style before you decide to just jump into it for a big event. I have sometimes had issues with my layers not cooperating for this technique. It all depends on where the layers are and where the loops are placed. Give this one a shot! It's super great and you can even sleep on it! It won't be perfect in the morning, but have no fear, it's not a loss. If there is a flat part on the top of your head, maybe use a teasing comb or add a pretty side braid. Throw a bobby pin in place to hide any flaws that may have happened over night.

Trust me when I say, people will love your hair and you can literally say, "I woke up this way!"


bottom of page